Regional Highlights

Southwest Virginia is a region of mountains, rolling hills, and wide-open valleys that includes seven counties (Buchanan, Dickenson, Lee, Russell, Scott, Tazewell, and Wise) and the City of Norton. An abundant natural resource base consisting of timber, coal, limestone, and natural gas provides economic opportunities for onshoring. Accessibility to interstate highways makes the region a convenient location to reach markets east of the Mississippi and in the Midwest.