Regional Highlights

The Roanoke Region is the largest metropolitan area in western Virginia and home to more than 330,000 residents. Composed of five counties (Alleghany, Botetourt, Craig, Franklin, and Roanoke) and three cities (Covington, Roanoke, and Salem), Roanoke is the cultural and business hub for western Virginia. As a budding hot spot for a variety of sectors, including transportation manufacturing, life science, and food and beverage, the region provides strategic market access for businesses and draws talent from a 25-mile radius from the Roanoke Region border with an extended labor area population of nearly 700,000.